Follow BAFC 

Bishop Auckland FC

Two Blues opponents for 2019/20 Northern League campaign announced by FA

Two Blues opponents for 2019/20 Northern League campaign announced by FA

The Football Association have this morning (Sunday 19 May 2019) announced the make of the Northern League Division One and Two for the 2019/20 campaign.

As Dunston UTS will reside in the Evo-Stik North West next season, alongside fellow north-east side, Marske United (South Shields, Whitby Town and Morpeth Town will play in the Evo-Stik Premier) the Northern League First Division will consist of the following sides –

Ashington, Billingham Town (promoted from Northern League 2), Bishop Auckland, Consett, Guisborough Town, Hebburn Town, Newcastle Benfield, Newton Aycliffe, North Shields, Northallerton Town (promotion for Northern League 2), Penrith, Ryhope Colliery Welfare, Seaham Red Star, Shildon, Stockton Town, Sunderland Ryhope CA, Thornaby (promoted from Northern League 2), West Auckland Town, Whickham, Whitley Bay

The Northern League Second Division will be as follows –

Bedlington Terriers, Billingham Synthonia, Birtley Town, Brandon United, Carlisle City (moved over from NW Counties North), Chester le Street Town, Crook Town, Durham City, Easington Colliery, Esh Winning, Heaton Stannington, Jarrow, Newcastle University (promoted from Northern Alliance), Redcar Athletic, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion, Sunderland West End (promoted from Wearside League), Tow Law Town, Washington, West Allotment Celtic, Willington

The make-up of the 2019/20 campaign comes in addition to the recent announcement to changes to the Mitre Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup competition for the upcoming season.

Replacing the first two knockout rounds of the competition the 2019/20 competition will see eight groups of five teams, the top two in each progressing to the last sixteen (then moves to a straight knockout competition); each side will play two home, two away games and sides will be seeded according to where they finished in the league last season.

As Bishop Auckland finished third in last season’s Northern League First Division we fall in the example bracket of second to ninth, therefore will be top seeds in one of the eight groups.

The changes to the league make-up for the upcoming campaign, subject to any appeals to the FA, will mean both the Northern League First and Second Division’s will run with twenty sides apiece.

The majority of pre-season friendlies for Bishop Auckland have been announced over the past few weeks and a full list of opponents, dates, times etc will be available in due course.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.